Expanded Board Takes Office July 1

Posted: Thursday, June 29, 2017, 5:42pm

The Curtain Players leadership team has a new president and vice president, a returning treasurer, and three new trustees as it enters the 2017-2018 season.

Players membership conducted elections May 23. New board members begin their terms of office Saturday July 1.

Appointed president on an interim basis following the resignation of Jill Taylor on May 10, James F. Petsche was elected to complete Taylor’s unexpired term through June 30, 2018. Petsche has been vice president since 2014. This is an encore for Petsche, who held the president’s office from 2009-2011.

Casey Merkey was elected to the vice president’s office. Merkey joined Curtain Players in 2011 and has many acting credits, most recently The Diary of Anne Frank. He is a house staff volunteer, and has served twice on the season selection committee and on the season-end celebration committee.

Incumbent Heather Schultz begins a full term as treasurer, an office she won in special election a year ago. Active with Curtain Players since 2015, Schultz has been an actor, director, house staff volunteer, and member of the season-end celebration, Simply Staged, and marketing committees.

Debb Miller won the trustee office vacated by retiring Lindsay Brooks. This office carries business manager and volunteer coordinator responsibilities. Miller in recent seasons has been a frequent house staff volunteer and member of the season-end celebration committee.

Jeremy Sony is returning to the Curtain Players leadership team in a newly created trustee office. Sony, a past president and secretary, and like Merkey, Schultz, and Miller, will serve through June 30, 2019. Sony wrote Robin Hood and the Secret of Sherwood staged in the Westerville amphitheater in 2016.

Christopher Musselman won the other newly created trustee office. Musselman will serve one year. He has been active with Curtain Players since 2016, serving as a house staff volunteer and a member of the marketing committee.

Secretary Cheryl Muller and Trustee Wendy Brinker continue in their offices through June 30, 2019.

Curtain Players membership in October 2016 approved creation of the two new trustee positions, increasing board size from six to eight. Board members are elected to two-year terms with one of the new trustee offices was assigned a one-year term to maintain an even four-and-four rotation of board members year to year.

Booth Muller, the theatre’s technical director, is an ex officio board member.

The Curtain Players board meets monthly. All board members assume and share various and multiple duties and projects of theatre administration, governance, and operations.