Vote on Board Slate May 21

Posted: Monday, May 7, 2018, 10:50am

The Curtain Players Board of Directors has put forth a slate of candidates for vote at the annual membership meeting Monday May 21, 7 PM, at the Harlem Road playhouse.

Four seats are open and the board's nominating committee, led by Vice President Casey Merkey, has put forth the following candidates: Heather Schultz, president; Sharifa Andrews, secretary; Wendy Brinker, trustee; and Sean Brinker, trustee.

If approved by majority membership at the meeting — set for 7 PM at the Harlem Road playhouse — the candidates will serve two-year terms commencing July 1, 2018.

Current officeholders James F. Petsche (president) and Cheryl Muller (secretary) are not seeking re-election. Trustees Wendy Brinker and Sean Brinker are incumbents seeking new terms.

Schultz is currently serving as treasurer. If elected president, the board in July is expected to appoint an individual to fill the unexpired term ending June 20, 2019.

Andrews would be new to the leadership team.

Following a 2017 election experiment in self-nominations and contested races, the board this year reverts back to organization by-laws and employed a nominating committee to prepare a slate of candidates for affirmation by theatre membership.

According to the by-laws, nominations may be made from the floor on election night to contest those on the slate.

Voting will take place during the spring membership meeting Monday May 21. All candidates will have an opportunity to introduce themselves to the voters before balloting. No ballots will be cast in absentia. Votes will be counted and officeholders announced that evening.

Voters must be members in good standing. Membership in the theatre is defined for individuals as having documented production credits (on stage or on production staffs or crews), volunteer hours (from Set Build Saturdays and committee work), or recorded donations to the theatre.